I don’t know where I’m going, but I sure know where I’ve been.


Well. I just took my first dose of Chantix, and immediately lit a cigarette. This… probably does not bode well.

I’m using the GetQuit program too, but I honestly don’t know how this is going to go. I suppose that if it even significantly reduces my smoking, it will be worth it. In the meantime, I am incredibly damn nervous, and pathetically grateful that the first week of the program/medicine still allows me to smoke. I’m keeping a smoking log, I’m going to be receiving check-in calls and emails, I am dismally sure that I will Fail At This, but I’m doing it anyway.

Things might get very cranky around here in a week. My quit date is the 14th. If the entire Internet could cross its fingers, that would be great.

* Whitesnake. Of course.

6 Responses to I don’t know where I’m going, but I sure know where I’ve been.

  1. slightlyscruffy says:

    I’ll call you and check in, b/c I can do that lying on my side! wahoo!!

  2. sarawr says:

    If you call me and check in AND the Chantix folks call me and check in, I will be out of phone minutes in like three days. Which I might be anyway, but still. :P

    Also, WHAT ARE YOU DOING ON THE INTERNET SO MUCH?

  3. Lissa says:

    You can do it! Give the medicine some time to work. My mom said after a few days on it, she’d light a cigarette and it just wouldn’t taste good/satisfy.

    As to not run up your phone minutes, I can poke you here and/or on Facebook.

    And are you talking April 14 or May 14??

  4. sarawr says:

    April 14th. You start the Chantix, and on the 8th day of taking it you stop smoking cold turkey. I am… uh, terrified of that prospect, but the whole point of this week is to let the Chantix do its thing. Here’s hoping.

    And yes, regular poking would be awesome. I don’t know why I thought the middle of a major depression + health stress + money woes was The Best Time to quit smoking. WTF.

  5. Adri says:

    I don’t know why I thought the middle of a major depression + health stress + money woes was The Best Time to quit smoking.

    Guessin’ the health stress and money woes might have something to do with it.

    <cheerleads> Yooou can doooo it!

  6. Anne says:

    Do you want to do it? Because I hear that’s the biggest factor in successfully quitting. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

